On a mobile device? Try our mobile site, optimized for faster browsing.

You are here

Woodside Estate Bistro

3_half star rating
14 reviews

Cuisine: Cafe, A La Carte

130 Woodside Rd
Matangi
Waikato District
07-829 5826
 

Hours:

  • Tues – Fri 10am – 3pm
  • Sat & Sun 10am – 3pm
  • Dinner Thurs
  • Facilities/Features:
    • Scenic View
    • Private Functions
    • Wedding Functions
  • Payment Types: EFTPOS, Visa, MasterCard
  • Price Range: Spendy, $25 - $35
  • Parking: Free Off-Street, Free On-Street
  • Outdoor Seating: Yes
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner

Woodside Estate Cafe is situated a short drive from Hamilton surrounded by idyllic gardens with wide verandahs overlooking Lake Dunkin. Available for all Christmas functions, birthdays, private bookings and weddings.

You Might Also Consider MenuMania Ad
Zyka Restaurant & Bar
4_half star rating
 14 reviews

Patsy G. said: "I visit Zyka at least once a fortnight and everything is always perfect. Cheap, good portions, friendly staff and amazing food. I have…"   read more »

14 Reviews for Woodside Estate Bistro

17th April 2014
2 star rating
I booked in to celebrate my graduation here as I knew the venue would be ideal for taking photos and had a relaxing atmosphere. Upon arriving with a cake, in order of the celebration, the staff rudely ignored the cake and did not offer to store it in the fridge. I instantly felt bad vibes and uncomfortable. We arrived half an hour before our booking, and were made to feel this was extremely inconvenient, and reminded several times that ‘big’ groups were coming. We felt as though we were rushed but in the time we were there, no big groups arrived, so am unsure why it was made such a big deal. We were charged a plate fee for the cake, which we had no problems with, but this was never discussed. If it had been dealt with better and politely spoken about before hand, it wouldn’t have been an issue. When we paid for the meal, the staff did not show the order, as is customary in most places. We believe they intentionally did this as they were charging a plate fee without any discussion.
Disappointing as the food was beautiful but the entire time we were made to feel the staff wanted us to spend a lot, and this was their primary focus, rather than making the celebration a special time.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Shirl

1

17th February 2014
5 star rating
Went to a wedding here yesterday and the food and service was lovely. Great job chefs on the meat. Cooked to perfection. Salads lovely and fresh. Love the little desserts that are offered. Just right. Thanks to all the hard working staff, the ones we saw and the ones behind the scene. Beautiful surroundings, would recommend to anyone.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

1st December 2013
1 star rating
We have just returned from ‘lunch’ at Woodside. We ordered from the ‘small plate’ menu, BUT we didn’t realize how SMALL the small plate would be !!! Chicken wrapped in pancetta, with salad and mash potato. Sounded fine but the salad consisted of perhaps five leaves of rocket or similar, perhaps 1 1/2 tbsp of mashed potato, and worst of all two minute pieces of chicken leg (with a thick layer of fat and chicken skin round it). All this for $18 ! A complete rip off in my book.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Comment from Emma R. of Woodside Estate Bistro 3/12/2013   
Hi Margaret, Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you didnt have a great experience when you visited us the other day. Please see the discription below of the dish you ordered as written on our menu: Chicken wrapped in panchetta and sage served with a…    More »

sheryn

2

5th October 2012
4 star rating
Went for lunch on Saturday 29 Oct with family of 10. Couldn’t fault the food, fish of the day amazing, lamb shank lovers were happy, & squid/prawn dish was yummy. We sat outside and enjoyed the sun & then wondered the gardens and grounds. We have some great family photos, and seven of us sat on the bike and acted the part. We finished with great coffee and slices. A great way to spend the afternoon. We all look forward to returning.

Visited September 2012

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Sandy

2

22nd December 2011
4 star rating
Went there with a group of 4. Service a little slow but it was just before Christmas and delay was explained – large group. The food was great by all accounts and coffee nice too. Very pleasant surrounds and seating. Will go again

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

18th July 2013
5 star rating
Outstanding evening at Woodside Estate tonight! Went for their advertised special Monteiths Wild Food night. Had their wild dish ‘Tongue n Cheek’…. Excellent flavour and plated beautifully, not to mention complimented well with the Chefs chosen Monteiths Barrel Aged Porter. Busy night yet friendly efficient service!! Well done Woodside, I look forward to coming back again soon!

Visited July 2013

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

17th August 2011
1 star rating
having booked and sorted two weeks in advance and having had two meals that were great i booked my birthday for 30 people. what a let down this was, soup was disgusting and no further comment would help.main was poached chicken mushroom rissoto baby salad greens., it arrived tastless, NO salad greens, very poor. cake sand coffee, old dry hard. some 20 people would never return, and i would never return.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Ian S.

1

14th August 2011
1 star rating
A group of us went to the cafe for a birthday party 30 people.
We were booked in for a set Menu starters 2 choice Mains 4 choice desert just cakes and coffee or tea.
13/08/2011
My own meal starters bread and dips dip very good but tiny amount.Maine’s chicken not what the menu said and over cooked no greens.
I would say 60 percent will never return and cannot recommend at all.
Ian

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Toni

1

2nd May 2011
5 star rating
Had our wedding here. Fantastic food! guests loved it! also been a few times for lunches. Good idea to book in advance! Recommend to all. Great Gardens to walk around in! Staff are wonderful even with family members who have allergies.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Noel

1

25th October 2010
5 star rating
Was recommended through a friend and went for lunch. Was told to ring and make a booking as often weddings are held. We had a lovely lunch, salmon was amazing. The venue is fantastic, enjoyed the gardens. This place deserves to be more well known, its my new favorite.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Jean

3

19th September 2010
2 star rating
Arrived there at 3.20pm on Sunday after checking opening hours on website that said open till 4pm. Staff advised that cafe closed at 3pm not 4pm as stated. Long way to go for nothing. Very disappointed. Having said that, the cafe had been recommended by my son who had visited earlier in the week.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

23rd November 2009
5 star rating
This is a hidden treasure. Delicious food. The hot smoked salmon salad and the lamb were cooked to perfection. The friendly and professional staff worked hard to ensure our birthday lunch for 40 went smoothly. The setting is exquisite – both inside and out. Wandering around the grounds discovering the many quirky suprises was an added bonus. Will be back with my colleagues for a team lunch soon.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

13th November 2009
5 star rating
Went for lunch on the Sunday with a group of visiting people. Young woman serving us was polite and helpful. Food was fantastic and didn’t think the size was too small. Not many people know about this restaurant, they really need to advertise more because it is a favorite of ours in Hamilton

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

29th August 2009
2 star rating
Saturday lunch booked for 12.30pm.First drinks were quite quick but overall service was slow. Finally got meals at about 1.45pm and as we had two small children thought they may have been served a little sooner, meals were very tasty although a little on the small side.Overall staff were very pleasant but suggest some customer skills need to be worked on as we were only asked twice if drinks were o.k. and when they were required had to go and ask,and some of us were not asked if we required coffees with desert. By that time we were over it. No good if you need to be somewhere else at a certain time but if you have nothing else to do try it.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

1 to 14 of 14

Did you eat at this restaurant? Have an opinion to share?

Write a Review

Map of Restaurant

Share: