On a mobile device? Try our mobile site, optimized for faster browsing.

Recent Restaurants Reviews Near Auckland City

241 to 260 of 570

2 weeks ago

Gus

Auckland City

37

Grey Lynn

4 star rating
 05/04/2014

We had lunch at this restaurant today and enjoyed the experience for the most part. The salt and pepper squid was coated in light panko crumbs, the shredded Thai basil on top gave it a fresh twist and the lemon sauce served to complete the dish nicely. The fried spring rolls were lovely and crisp but wrapped in rice paper which was a surprise and hit the spot. I am a big beef pho fan, unfortunately the soup suffered from underseasoning. Having said that I liked the clean homely style and it wasn’t poor enough to stop me from slurping soup straight from the bowl!!! The pork belly hotpot rounded out the meal, not as sweet as the last time I ate this dish at another restaurant, which suited my palate. One piece needed a fraction more cooking (understandable for a slow cooked dish so early in the morning) but the other two were meltingly tender. All in all a very good meal, a bit more salt and it would have been great.

2 weeks ago

Shoma C.

Auckland City

1

St Johns

1 star rating
 05/04/2014

I hate Carl’s Jr.. It’s the worst burger ever.. It’s not even worth the 1 star I’ve given it… Went to the Takanini restaurant after I heard great reviews about it. Hated it.. The fries were covered with salt. Thought I’d try it again just in case the Takanini restaurant was just a bad experience … So tried the one in Botany.. It was just as same as Takanini.. So bad

2 weeks ago

Anna D.

Auckland City

2

Ponsonby

5 star rating
 05/04/2014

I dined here sat night, had the gnocchi, venison carpaccio and prawn spring roll – beautiful fresh food. The waitress we had was lovely, I forgot to get her name so I could mention her in this review. Amanda (whom I do remember asking her name from past visits) is an amazing host, she has great knowledge of both wine and food menu and always makes me feel welcome, and gives great suggestions. Thank you for the lovely dining experience :)

2 weeks ago

Joules

Auckland City

6

Remuera

5 star rating
 05/04/2014

My regular coffee stop when in Auckland. Lovely staff – especially Amy who always remembers your coffee order with a friendly smile – which is rare these days… The one downside to this lovely café is the Browns management – sour, unfriendly (from the jewellers next door) – too high & mighty to even acknowledge you even though you are a regular. Not good enough. Doesn’t cost anything to be friendly… Allpress coffe as always superb, and a great range of food. Chicken club sandwiches are sooooo fresh – to die for.

2 weeks ago

Joules

Auckland City

6

Remuera

5 star rating
 05/04/2014

Had lunch here with a colleague last week…service standards were very high as usual and the staff and owner very friendly. Busy as always…and the area around the counter is pretty cramped but staff and clientele are always polite. Great café – one of my favourites. Keep up the great work.

2 weeks ago

Annie

Auckland City

16

Remuera

4 star rating
 05/04/2014

Went today with three friends, we had purchased vouchers for the high tea and cocktails. The venue is very nice, garden lovely, and the staff were attentive and professional. The food was lovely, we all enjoyed the range of foods for the high tea, with a mix of savoury and sweet, and even a little salad. Unfortunately one of our party is deathly allergic to prawns, so she wasn’t able to eat two of the savoury dishes, but she still felt that she had had enough to eat by the end. I will be recommending this place to friends, and with the groupon deal it’s certainly well worth the money.

2 weeks ago

Dave

Auckland City

4

Point Chevalier

5 star rating
 05/04/2014

This place is just awesome, great for couples, groups and families. Have nothing but great things to say, tell anyone who wants to know a great place to go it is worth the travel, we travel from East Auckland to go here.

2 weeks ago

Jordan O.

Auckland City

1

Remuera

5 star rating
 05/04/2014

I went to Benson Road Deli (BRD) today (Saturday) and found the service and food to be excellent! We were initially looked after by the manager who was superb, chatty and informative! After our brunch we were then offered a glass of wine by Ryan, one of the wait staff – awesome dude and very friendly! We wouldn’t have had the wine if it wasn’t for Ryan. Great upsell! He came outside and chatted with us for a while, which made the service excellent! I would fully recommend if you are looking for a great brunch!

2 weeks ago

Ron

Auckland City

3

Mt Albert

5 star rating
 05/04/2014

Xotic is a very nice restaurant for Indian vegetarian food. I have visited a number of times times, but they have improved service, quality/taste etc in last 1-2 years. My family enjoy having meal snacks here. They got A+ rating, price is reasonable and provide good quantity and quality of food. Staff are great.

2 weeks ago

Nadia P.

Auckland City

1

Ponsonby

3 star rating
 05/04/2014

Amazing food, very average service. I’ve been to this place twice on separate occasions to have brunch with my friends, and I found the experience to be a slightly disheartening. I felt like the staff prioritized their customers on separate levels, leaving my group to be last. My order took at about 30-45 minutes to arrive on the table, and the other customers seated next to me have already finished and left when we just ordered our food 5 minutes after they did. I leniently asked the waitress about my food, taking into consideration about how busy it was. She did not get back to me whether my food was coming nor did she briefly mention it to me, but instead she cleaned the tables next to mine and avoided eye contact with me. Prior to that I asked for a menu since I went there to meet friends who have already been seated, and I was told that there was a shortage of menus. As I looked over the next table, a group of 3 adults and baby had 4 menus, one of which the baby was playing with. Why should a baby need a menu when a perfectly grown adult is in need of one??? Ridiculous. I found the food amazing and very filling, however my experience with the service was ultimately poor. I would visit again only for takeaways.

2 weeks ago

Kathlyn F.

Auckland City

6

Auckland Central

1 star rating
 05/04/2014

We have booked a table for about 20 to 25 people to celebrate my Colombian friend’s birthday. When we arrived, we were told we could not order from the menu, instead they gave us only two very expensive choices of Set menu. We decided to go with the cheapest option, which was already quite expensive and a friend and her family decided to go as she couldn’t afford almost $50 per person + drinks. We were sitting in a long table and the food was being served only to the other end of the table, then I asked the waitress to distribute the portions correctly, so I wouldn’t need to get up and get my food on the other side. He then called his manager, who is the owner of the place, she told me it was not her job to distribute the food, we argued about how they should serve the food to each person, like they do when only 2 or 3 people dine there. She was absolutely rude saying it was not her problem other guests were eating my food. But how would they know it’s not theirs when it is in front of them? When all 3 courses were served, everybody were still quite hungry and complaining about the small portions. We decided to have a look on the menu and found out they were charging us $8 more per person to have the set menu in comparison to the price on the menu. After much discussion, they agreed to charge us the price they have on the menu, which is only fair!!! I can’t believe they charge more if you go with a group of people, it is unbelievable. Terrible experience, expensive place, small portions, rude people. I am certainly never going back.

2 weeks ago

Phil

Auckland City

5

Auckland Central

5 star rating
 05/04/2014

Really enjoyed the food, and great service. Nice sunny room for lunch! The staff were friendly, and gave good advice about the menu. The coffee was very good, and not too weak. The food was prepared quickly and cooked to a high standard. Will definitely be going back soon.

2 weeks ago

Simon C.

Auckland City

1

Parnell

1 star rating
 05/04/2014

On a sunny Saturday afternoon I decided to have a beer and burger at the Parnell Bar & Grill. There are tables outside, where there were three other people sitting on their own nursing a beer. The decor is pleasant, and there is a large choice of beers on tap. I ordered a Kronenburg and was immediately served a Carlsberg. When I pointed out that wasn’t what I had ordered, it was promptly replaced without an apology. I ordered a ‘Great American Disaster’ from the extensive burger menu – which is precisely what it was – a disaster! Some sort of corned beef was topped with two slices of very orange processed cheese, a mean slice of tomato, some iceberg lettuce, a gherkin, and drenched in mayonnaise. The bun was untoasted, but the chips were very good. This wasn’t one of their $10 deals, and lunch cost me just under $30. The meal was inedible. When I asked for some tomato sauce a tiny little bowl was brought to the table. I shall not be returning.

2 weeks ago

Harry M.

Auckland City

1

Mt Wellington

5 star rating
 05/04/2014

I’ve been here a few times now and it is always excellent. The menu is extensive and changes frequently and there is always a great mix of classic breakfast and lunch dishes as well as tasty quirkier ones. The food is beautiful, well-priced and quick to cme out. The coffee is great and the service is excellent. The staff are always friendly and professional and there’s no waiting around for someone to take your order or bring water to the table. Excellent setting and interior as well.

2 weeks ago

Josephine v.

Auckland City

1

Auckland Central

4 star rating
 05/04/2014

Great friendly service, great prices and delicious, well presented food. Interior is spacious and clean. Not super flash bit the foods makes up for it. Definitely going back. The choc chilli mousse with spicy caramel was a hit on our table.

2 weeks ago

Genevieve V.

Auckland City

24

We had a favourite dish we had and had only that dish regularly the last time we got it the dish which was chicken was dry and also had a lot of gristle. We had been regular customers and it was disappointing that they decided to give us a sub standard dish also the nan did not seem fresh it was flakey and luke warm. It is disappointing our has a lot of different curry restaurants/cafe so it is competitive for returning customers. Our advice is lift up your game so that people will have pakwan on the radar to return.

2 weeks ago

Genevieve V.

Auckland City

24

Mt Wellington

4 star rating
 04/04/2014

We had Big Js for lunch my partner he had the Chimichanga and I had a bacon chicken burger. The chimichanga was crunchy and very flavorsome the bacon and chicken burger was very tasty and the bun was lightly toasted which was perfect often it can be over toasted. The chip serving was small but we felt it was just enough chips were were so fill we did not need to eat dinner that night. The food is very well priced the presentation and taste is moreish we look forward to returning especially as we live relatively close.

2 weeks ago

Ron

Auckland City

3

Sandringham

2 star rating
 04/04/2014

I went to this place for the dinner with my kids and wife as it was Friday family outings. We ordered some dishes. They supplied some and missed out one main course for my youngest son. When we asked the counter staff few times about that dish, he told they are preparing it. After waiting for a long time (more than 45 minutes), I asked again and same staff said I did not order. When I was trying to explain to him, he started to raise his voice and started arguing with me. My poor little boy was feeling hungry and started to shed tears. I felt depressed and I just finished my dinner in half way with whatever I ordered and went other restaurant and finished our dinner. Basically my nice family evening was spoiled. In my opinion, 1.This is a take away place with few table and chairs, they struggle to cope up with a decent crowd. 2. I could see they have problems with preparing food when crowd increases. And food taste goes very average. 3. Finding hard to supply food on time. There were few unsatisfied customers as they had similar kind of problems. Surely, I would think twice before for my future visit.

2 weeks ago

Tony

Auckland City

6

Onehunga

1 star rating
 04/04/2014

Please avoid going to this place if you are using deal voucher. The girl at the counter is the most depressing person you will come across. No sooner she sees you are using deal voucher, her face changes. The quantity of food is so small, which is almost half the actual size. Half of the things are not available to voucher customers. The BBQ Grill is not used as shown in picture. The food is OK. The Main Chef/Big Senior man is good, but this girl should be kept away from front desk. She should be made to work as kitchen hand. Keep away, keep away and avoid that depressing girl, if you are using any discount vouchers.

2 weeks ago

Jane

Auckland City

1

Epsom

1 star rating
 04/04/2014

One star does not even touch on their obnoxious service. They do not know how to say thank you nor the word sorry. I have never written a review before in my life but their poor , unacceptable service must be warned to others. We came in on a Friday night. The place was busy and we saw a few tables that were waiting for their dishes. We sat down, made our order and waited. And waited. And waited. For an HOUR. We knew the place was busy of course and didn’t expect the food to come put quick. But an hour?? And what do you know, next minute the table that arrived after us gets their food. Then guess what? Apparently they forgot our order. And then? Not even one apology. Okay some people might think, it’s a cheap place why do you expect service from them? But I say it’s just common sense. Just a simple genuine quick apology would have been suffice. As for the food, the service just killed my appetite so don’t have much to say. Update: reading through some of the reviews is making me even more angry. Apparently they serve regular customers food first.

‹‹ Previous12 ... 10111213141516 ... 28 29Next ››