On a mobile device? Try our mobile site, optimized for faster browsing.

Recent Restaurants Reviews Near Waikato District

1 to 11 of 11

10 hours ago

Rabid P.

Waikato District

1

Maramarua

4 star rating
 24/04/2014

Don’t be h8in on da Pink Pig, ITS DA SHIZ!!!! I no its not no Maccas but who needs dat freeky clown? Me an ma hoes always hang out here when we are lookin a bit phat! The squits I got from here got rid of my baby fat! In fact me and Hemi named our fifth kid Piggie as she was made in da toilet there! The only thing I don’t like (except the food) was the Big Pig who is on da sign. I always worried dat he gonna eat me or get his little sossy out if ya know what I mean?!?

2 days ago

Cindy S.

Waikato District

10

Maramarua

3 star rating
 22/04/2014

Stopped en route to tauranga. Have stopped there in previous years and found it excellent. This time was definitely average. The food was a little lackluster and the staff were fighting with each other in front of the customers. Despite that, the service was good. I’m not sure it’s worth continuing to stop there again though.

2 days ago

Cindy S.

Waikato District

10

Maramarua

1 star rating
 22/04/2014

Having been stuck on the motorway in Auckland traffic, my teens and my Mum and I were starving and busting for the toilet. The sign clearly said the toilet was for customers only, but since we were intending to buy, we raced in. The lady behind the counter screamed after us “that toilet is for customers only!” When we came out and looked at the food, there was only fried food and some slices and cakes with almost fluorescent icing. It looked so bad we decided to eat elsewhere. My mum paid the man behind the counter $1 and specifically said it was for the use of the toilet. As we got in the car, the lady from behind the counter pulled the fingers at me, yelling abuse through the window! I would only stop there again to give that woman a piece of my mind. Terrible!

1 week ago

Jessica R.

Waikato District

1

Matangi

2 star rating
 17/04/2014

I booked in to celebrate my graduation here as I knew the venue would be ideal for taking photos and had a relaxing atmosphere. Upon arriving with a cake, in order of the celebration, the staff rudely ignored the cake and did not offer to store it in the fridge. I instantly felt bad vibes and uncomfortable. We arrived half an hour before our booking, and were made to feel this was extremely inconvenient, and reminded several times that ‘big’ groups were coming. We felt as though we were rushed but in the time we were there, no big groups arrived, so am unsure why it was made such a big deal. We were charged a plate fee for the cake, which we had no problems with, but this was never discussed. If it had been dealt with better and politely spoken about before hand, it wouldn’t have been an issue. When we paid for the meal, the staff did not show the order, as is customary in most places. We believe they intentionally did this as they were charging a plate fee without any discussion. Disappointing as the food was beautiful but the entire time we were made to feel the staff wanted us to spend a lot, and this was their primary focus, rather than making the celebration a special time.

2 weeks ago

Noeline M.

Waikato District

1

Gordonton

4 star rating
 14/04/2014

4 of us had lunch here 11/4/2014. as I had been before I knew what to expect, the others hadn’t. as it was wet we were inside the house. the atmosphere and surroundings are lovely. service great, very friendly and helpful. a good comprehensive menu, which I think is a little on the expensive side. paying for quality not quantity. it is a place to take someone for a special occasion. would say worth while.

2 weeks ago

Jane F.

Waikato District

1

Tamahere

5 star rating
 13/04/2014

I recently had the pleasure of organising a private lunch for my employers. They were very pleased that I chose The Narrows Landing as the food and service were of a very high standard. Their special requirements were executed perfectly. Happy to recommend this beautiful setting for dining and functions of any number.

2 weeks ago

Lorrel F.

Waikato District

2

Huntly

5 star rating
 08/04/2014

I regularly visit Zee Barn, and the food is always delicious. Good ‘Grandmas kitchen’ style hearty home made meals. You can get hot meals for lunch like macaroni, casserole or soup and a scone, and they have a great selection of cakes, slices, muffins, or cheesecakes. A cosy place for lunch, with cute barn style decor, and very reasonably priced!

2 weeks ago

Lorrel F.

Waikato District

2

Huntly

5 star rating
 08/04/2014

Me and my family regularly visit the Odd Spoon and it never fails to deliver! All of their meals are generous in size, tasty, and very well presented. I was lucky enough to try their Sunday roast recently and it was devine! It’s a shame I’m usually too full to enjoy their desserts or lovely tarts or cheesecakes! Customer service is always excellent as well. Well done Toni! Definitely recommend checking this place out. Good to see all these excellent reviews because they totally deserve it. They make Huntly proud :)

3 weeks ago

Alice F.

Waikato District

1

Gordonton

1 star rating
 01/04/2014

We had a function for a large group and chose the buffet option. We were charged $40 per adult and $20 per child (all under 9 years old) for some scraps of ham, watery beef stew, gluggy rice, stale bread, grated carrot/beetroot with no dressing and cheap pasta salad. The decadent dessert being watermelon with chocolate buttons. The kids didn’t like any of it and frankly neither did any of the adults but were hungry so didn’t have a choice. The service was painfully slow and we took it upon ourselves to fetch our own glasses etc and get water for the children. A complete rip off and will never go there again. Anyone still tempted should at least order off the menu as its cheaper than the buffet and at least is edible. An extremely disappointing anniversary party.

4 weeks ago

Sian A.

Waikato District

1

Huntly

5 star rating
 29/03/2014

We held our wedding reception at the Odd Spoon Cafe in Huntly. It was a wonderful experience! The beautiful art deco style of the cafe made for an amazing setting. Our guests were so surprised when they walked through the doors as it is quite a hidden gem, the outside does not reflect the inside at all. Nice wooden floors, with matching wooden furniture meant we didn’t need to worry about excessive decorations as it already looked simple and lovely. The art deco fireplace made for a gorgeous backdrop to our top table. We treated our guests to a buffet dinner and desert and they were not disappointed. Our guests had nothing but rave reviews on the food and of course the service. Toni and her staff were brilliant as usual, polite and efficient and always friendly. Thank you Toni and your team for creating such fond memories of our wedding day, we truly appreciate it.

1 month ago

Brian G.

Waikato District

4

Raglan

1 star rating
 25/03/2014

Attracted by the bright lights and the large number of diners on the veranda, my wife, two companions and I opted to have our evening meal here, Big Mistake. We were ushered to an inside table by a pleasant waitress and ordered from the menu. I ordered a risotto dish and my wife a burger and fries. My so called risotto was just a mess of gluggy white rice layered with something unidentifiable and dotted with a few pieces of al dente carrot and broccoli. It certainly bore no relationship to risotto that I expected. Two of my companions taking pity on my stingy size serving offered me a portion of their meal one of which was a slice of someone’s shoe leather which I later discovered was down on the menu as pork. My wife considered her burger was overpriced but kindly offered me some of her chips to pad out my meal. If I was not so tired and hungry I would have sent my meal back. After the disaster of our “mains” we were not game to risk any deserts. A thoroughly disappointing time.Neither of the waitresses on duty cared to ask us how our meals were.Just as well! If you are thinking of going there, take my advice. Don’t!